ADVERTISMENT

Opinion

Should Hamzah Sheeraz have been disqualified against Bradley Skeete?

Hamzah Sheeraz
We ask the Boxing News panel whether Hamzah Sheeraz should have been disqualified in his fight with Bradley Skeete on Saturday

Paul Edwards
Former British champion

I do think he should have definitely. I think Steve Gray is normally a great ref, when he looks back on it now, he must feel gutted. I think the British Boxing Board will do the right thing and get the rematch.

Thomas Stalker
Former GB boxing captain

Yes Sheeraz should have been disqualified so a rematch is the only way forward from here.

Micky Helliet
Manager & promoter

Sheeraz was guilty of a serious breach of the rules so he should have been disqualified. It’s a shame because although I had him behind on points he seemed to be coming back into the fight.

Andy Clarke
Boxing commentator
Yes, but I say that with the benefit of hindsight. I was commentating from ringside and in real time I could see that Skeete had been hit late, but in that moment honestly wasn’t sure if it merited a DQ or not. Replays showed that it did but referees don’t get to watch replays.

Read this week’s media review here

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

ADVERTISMENT

Boxing news – Newsletter

ADVERTISMENT

Current Issue

ADVERTISMENT

ADVERTISMENT