April 15, 2015
April 15, 2015
Freddie Roach

Feedspot followFeedly follow

THE top two pound-for-pound fighters, Floyd Mayweather and Manny Pacquiao are 17 days away from their May 2 welterweight world championship unification rumble at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas.

Promoted by Mayweather Promotions and Top Rank Inc., the Mayweather-Pacquiao live pay-per-view telecast will be co-produced and co-distributed by HBO Pay-Per-View® and SHOWTIME PPV® beginning at 9:00 p.m. ET/ 6:00 p.m. PT.

After hearing how late Mayweather was for his own media workout, the seven-time Trainer of the Year offered his own audit of Manny’s next opponent.

“I am so glad that Mayweather is big on Shots [the social network app. Mayweather uses] because he is going to be taking a lot of them from Manny on May 2,” said Roach, one of the many bon mots he served on Tuesday after Manny’s training session which included 12 rounds of sparring. “That is why he has been avoiding Manny for so long. He didn’t want this fight. He can pretend it was a strategy to build up the fight’s value but that’s not true. For once Mayweather wasn’t able to handpick his opponent. He was forced to take this fight — by Manny, the media and the fans. His excuses for not making the fight haven’t held water for years and Manny finally exposed him. Mayweather ran out of road. Mayweather may have been the ‘A Side’ during the negotiations, but once he signed the contract he became the ‘B Side’ just like he did when he fought Oscar De La Hoya, Ricky Hatton, Miguel Cotto and [Saul] Canelo Alvarez.  That is why he prolonged announcing the fight for as long as he did.  He wanted all the attention.

“Mayweather is a different ‘A Side’ now and you can guess what the ‘A’ stands for.  He was late for his media workout leaving major media outlets scheduled to go live with dead air. How selfish is that? It doesn’t take a lot to figure out why everyone is rooting for Manny. Just look at which fighter has the most endorsements going into this fight and why. When Manny beats Mayweather it won’t only be about unifying the welterweight titles, it will also be a public service to boxing.

“Mayweather may be two victories shy of tying Rocky Marciano’s record [49-0] but I can assure you Mayweather’s party will end on May 2 and Marciano’s record will remain just that – the record.  And Mayweather will forever be known as Mr. 47 and 1.”

CLICK HERE TO WATCH FLOYD MAYWEATHER’S WORKOUT

RETURN TO WWW.FIGHTOFTHECENTURY.CO.UK FOR THE LIVE STREAM OF MANNY PACQUIAO’S PUBLIC WORKOUT TONIGHT

Estimated start time 6:00 p.m. ET / 3:00 p.m. PT / 11:00 pm GMT