April 16, 2015
April 16, 2015
Erislandy Savon

Feedspot followFeedly follow

THE BRITISH LIONHEARTS has named its team to face the Cuba Domodores in its final home match of the season in the World Series of Boxing (WSB) this Thursday, 16 April 2015 at the Copper Box Arena on the Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park.

It will be the first time the Lionhearts have competed at the Copper Box and is expected to see the largest crowd of the season for a match that will see boxers from Great Britain, which finished top the of the boxing medal table at London 2012, take on WSB’s defending champions and the most the most successful country in the history of Olympic boxing.

A 2 for 1 promotion is now available on tickets which are on sale athttp://tickets.sky.com/Other/World-Series-of-Boxing priced £10 (lower seating and upper concourse) and £25 (ringside) for adults and £5 and £12.50 for under-16s.  Purchasers need to enter the code LIONHEART to take advantage of the 2 for 1 offer. 

The Lionhearts teams features four members of the GB Boxing squad in 2014 Commonwealth Games medallists, Sam Maxwell and Sean McGoldrick, and WSB debutants, Joe Maphosa from Middlesbrough at light-flyweight and middleweight, Troy Williamson, from Darlington.  They are joined by overseas selection, Ionet Mirel-Jitaru from Romania at heavyweight.

Maxwell and McGoldrick are two of the team’s most consistent performers.  Maxwell is in good form after a convincing win in his last bout over Ahmed Boudiat and currently sits seventh in the light-welterweight rankings.  He faces a mouth-watering clash against the boxer ranked fourth, Yasnier Lopez Toledo, who has won all five of his contests this season.

Bantamweight, McGoldrick has a career WSB record of four wins from five bouts and comes into the match on the back of a victory over Farid Kennouche in his most recent appearance against the Algeria Desert Hawks.

The Lionhearts face a Cuban line-up brimming with world class talent and featuring some of the highest ranked boxers in WSB.  It includes:

·       The number five ranked light-flyweight, Joahnys Agilagos Perez

·       Andy Cruz Gomez who is unbeaten in four WSB bouts this season at bantamweight  

·       London 2012 bronze medallist, Yasnier Toledo Lopez, who is unbeaten in five WSB light-welterweight contests this season

·       The number two ranked middleweight in WSB, Arlen Lopez Cordona

·       The second-placed heavyweight in WSB, Erislandy Savon Cotilla, who famously lost to Anthony Joshua at the London 2012 Olympics the last time he boxed in London;  Savon has a WSB record of 14 wins and no losses over the last two seasons of the competition